Flash Fiction short stories for all, just in time for Christmas!


It’s a merry Christmas for everyone!

(Taken from the movie A Christmas Carol, 1938)

Tiny Tim: God bless us, everyone!
Scrooge: Merry Christmas? Hmm! I have another bundle for you.
Cratchit: But sir, it’s Christmas Day.
Scrooge: Christmas Day, indeed! Just another excuse for being lazy. And another thing, Cratchit, I’ve had enough of this ‘half day off’ stuff! You leave me no alternative but to give you…
Tiny Tim: Toys!

Okay, so perhaps I have no toys to offer, but if I could, I’d make the book free on Amazon, but they don’t allow me any control over that. That is okay though, priced at $1.19, it is priced to move, and just in time for Christmas. The long anticipated book, Flash Fiction 40+1: New Mexican Bread Aisle –is now available! 41 short stories to keep the gears in your mind greased. 41 short stories to keep you wondering. 41 short stories to…to…well, you get the idea. So check it out! Give it a try! Get your copy of the ebook on Amazon and Barnes & Noble, today! (The print copy should be out within a few weeks). Amazon: http://goo.gl/DdHbv  and Barnes & Noble: http://goo.gl/l6mAl

 

Sample stories from the book:

~ I Talk to You ~

You all work so hard for the little that you have. I wonder why, day after day, you try so hard. You live and die in such a short amount of time, and most of that time is spent working. It is hard to say whether or not you ever get any sort of freedom, although you have all been known to fight so hard for what is yours and to be free; I still find you following orders from someone higher than you. I’ve been watching you for a while now and it is so amazing how brave and hardworking you are.

When I look upon you, I wonder how you feel about your families. It seems like you never get much time to spend with them. You are all so busy going on with your lives and working day in and day out, and often times from sun up until sun down. You make me wonder how it is possible that a creation of your stature can be as great and as powerful as you are. Even when alone, you are still amazing and all the more amazing in greater numbers.

Given simple items, such as the elements of the Earth, you have been able to construct amazing creations. You construct amazing houses or structures out of sand and dirt or other simple earthly objects. I wonder if you know what it is that you’re even working so hard for. You all seem to follow orders from above you, though many of you have never even met the greater being above you that is giving orders. Perhaps you are just following what you have been told and because you do not know any better, you go about your daily lives unaffected and unconcerned.

It makes me sad to see you all when you go to war against each other. You go to war against your own kind. I would have never expected for you to fight against your own species, if anything, I would have thought you would have fought against anything else but yourselves. I guess that through everything you have endured, you fail to see how truly amazing you are. I wonder, from where I’m at, if you can see me watching you. I wonder if you know when I’m thinking of or talking to you. I wonder if you can understand me when I talk to you. Anyhow, I know that you are much too busy to be concerned with me, but just try to remember how amazing you are.

~ The Lifeless World ~

It was not the same world that he went to sleep knowing. When he woke up, he woke up to a completely new world. The world that he knew had ended. It seemed to him that life would hardly be worth living anymore. He decided to stick around and venture into the new world to see what horrors would lay in store for him and his future. He pressed forth into the inner city, and wondered where everyone was. Why is it that I’m the only one in this world? He thought.

As he pressed further into the city, he was reminded of fond memories of his childhood and other things that used to bring him so much joy. He now gazed upon the lifeless surroundings. No longer did he feel any joy or contentment for that place. There was no color left. He saw someone rushing by, so he hurried to catch up with them.

“What the hell happened here?” he asked the man.

“What do you mean? You know as well as I do,” he said.

“The world I loved, the people, my friends and my family…” the man carried on.

“They’re all gone. Our world was destroyed. How long have you been here?” he asked.

“I..I don’t know. The last thing I remember was being at home in bed, and my brother, my mother and my sister were at my bedside, talking with me,” he said.

“Well, I’m sorry, but I can’t spend much time here, if they see us talking, they’ll recognize us. You have to keep moving and keep trying to blend in,” he said and then ran off.

He tried to imagine the fatal mistake he had made that night. He drank too much at the bar and on his way home he had his encounter. It came from the shadows and hit him so fast that he didn’t know what to make of it. At first, he thought it was innocent and harmless, and being in his state of mind, he entertained the idea. He often wondered if it was because of a bite he received from her, or perhaps it was through the bodily fluids.

He let it go on for so long because he thought nothing of it. Since it had been so long ago, he vaguely remembered the excruciating pain that followed, but he remembered how terrible the illness was.

He wondered if he would be destined to forever roam the Earth like the dead in this new world.

Get your ebook copy today! At Amazon or Barnes & Noble

Much Love,

Volatalistic Phil

Comment?

